RobPolk
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I'm applying for medicine for 2017 after a gap year.
I'm currently studying Biology, Chemistry, Archaeology and Resistant materials all at A2 level.
For my AS I got an A in resistant materials and a B in everything else.
My question is, would it be sensible to drop Archaeology or would that damage my chances of getting into medicine? The amount of coursework involved with Archaeology is huge and I'm not confident that I would achieve higher than a C unless I put so much work into the coursework I could risk hurting my other courses.
I'm confident that I could achieve an A* in Resistant materials, and As in my sciences if I work for it. My concern here is that archaeology might look better on my UCAS application than resistant materials.
Thanks, Rob
♥Samantha♥
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
I don't think med schools will care much for an A* in resistant materials. Really you should put most of your effort into biology and chemistry. I think dropping archeology at AS should be fine especially if it will help bring up your science grades; the entry requirements are only 3 A2s. What universities are you applying for?
flyingpanda
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by RobPolk)
I'm applying for medicine for 2017 after a gap year.
I'm currently studying Biology, Chemistry, Archaeology and Resistant materials all at A2 level.
For my AS I got an A in resistant materials and a B in everything else.
My question is, would it be sensible to drop Archaeology or would that damage my chances of getting into medicine? The amount of coursework involved with Archaeology is huge and I'm not confident that I would achieve higher than a C unless I put so much work into the coursework I could risk hurting my other courses.