Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Help!! Having to retake Litb1 Aspects of Narrative Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hey everyone.

I am a budding English Literature student who wishes to study the subject at a good university. I was predicted an A throughout my first year of sixth form, but came out with a C when my grade D in 'Aspects of Narrative' brought my grade down. I got an A in the coursework.

Generally, exams are my weakness at the moment. I am doing very well with my Gothic revision currently for A2, and find it so much easier than Litb1. But to get the A I so desperately want I will need to retake Litb1.

I felt let down by my teachers, who for every Litb1 essay gave me an A. I know from my script and unsuccessful remark that it was to do with my stucture and irrelevance to the questions. I literally need all the advice I can get on how to do well in this resit! I would be so grateful if anyone could help me out.

ReputationRep:
    Hey, so here's some similar advice I gave to another Literature student.

Practice writing timed essays and ask your teacher to mark them in this case your teachers seem to be easy markers. You could perhaps ask another English teacher to mark them or even post your essays on student room in the English forum and get feedback this way.

If you are studying poetry you could summarise each poem briefly, for example: 'form, structure, literary devices (such as syntax, euphuism)' and list a few quotes (memorising quotes is essential especially if you have to make references between different texts in the exam.)You could always voice record yourself saying the quotes if you are having trouble.

Also, you may want to look for a tutor to help you with the exam part of the subject such as the construction of essays. YouTube videos may be a good idea to check out if you are unable to find a tutor.

Make sure you follow the criteria for A01, 2,3 and 4 as this is must for the exam.