Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Help please... Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hello, i graduated with a Business and Human Resource degree a few months ago..but i really want to go into marketing.. i was thinking if this was still possible as marketing was one of the modules i did in my degree... but wont retailers ask why i chose to focus more on the HR sector in my degree?

ReputationRep:
    If you're planning on applying for entry-level jobs in Marketing this shouldn't be too much of an issue.

I would definitely recommend you to build up on you marketing knowledge, which will set you apart from the rest! Prove to them how much you want it, how well do you know the industry? Who are the leaders and innovators? Which brands do you feel need help and how would you do it - you could do a case study and send that off with your CV. Knowledge is power.

If possible do you best to get an internship so that you have some practical experience, which will help you too!

GOOD LUCK x

ReputationRep:
    I wouldn't worry too much, its not essential to have a marketing degree for a marketing job.

I agree with Dior Dediako, it would be a good idea to be as proactive as possible on improving your marketing knowledge/skills. Firstly, I would re-write your CV to be as marketing focused as possible. Concentrate on marketing focused skills and activities. Additionally, investigate further ways of employing your employability as a marketer. This could include: additional studying with the Charterd Institute of Marketing, write a marketing blog, online marketing freelance work, maybe start a business etc.