Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello TSR.

I have been offered an unconditional offer from Lincoln for Law (LLB), if I accept them as my firm choice. I'm only 17 and I'm worried.

I really want to go to university, however, I'm just wondering whether it's worth it.

3 years of the highest maintenance loan = £24600
    3 years of tuition funding = £27000
    Leaving me with a debt of £51600

This is without the Legal Practice Course which will cost even more money, before I reap any benefits of the degree. (I do remind you, going to university is very dear to me, though)

I would plan on getting a part-time job, but at 17, everything just seems a bit much.

The question I put to you, is; is this money manageable? Is it doable? Will I ever pay this back?

All information is very much appreciated, and sought after. I'm just looking for assurance I'm making the correct decision I suppose. My background is a poor one, and my parental financial backing is second to almost everyone.

Many thanks.
    Pretty Flacko.
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    You may not pay it all back. It gets written off after 30 years.

ReputationRep:
    This is something most of us stress about.
    The way I see it the sacrifice is worth it in the end. I am going to uni at 42,and already have plenty of debt! You have to keep in mind that even when the time comes to pay it back, it is in very small amounts compared to a normal loan or even a mortgage.
    As someone older and a little more"worldly wise",I would suggest trying to write out and stick to a monthly budget. There are examples online. Dont go mad and spend it ok n booze and takeaways. Learn to cook, it will save you lots of money, honestly.
    It WILL be worth it in the end.
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep: