Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

My parents don't like me applying for jobs in London... Watch

Announcements

Ok... It might sound a little pathetic, but I am a 25 year old graduate, still living at home. Health issues (seizures) have made it difficult for me to get around when living in a rural area, though I do have a part-time job just down the road which I cycle to, allowing me to save up money. Obviously I am looking around for full time work. Mostly local of course, but if a relatively well-paid, music-related job (my major) crops up in London, then I would naturally at least try to apply.

I have previously applied to a job in London, and had been invited to interview. The job itself was a grad. level job, 18-20k, so just about liveable. When I told my parents about the job, the literally freaked out. They said things like "There's no way you'd be able to handle living in London!", "There's no way you could afford that!", or "You'd be beaten up and robbed", and other really petty things like that. In the end, the continuous nagging (though my grandmother being ill at the time and also recently passing away) made me think twice, and I decided to turn down the interview. In hindsight, I feel really stupid for not attending the interview, because it would have at least been good practice.

My worry is thus: I have just applied to another Music-related job in London, which pays even better than the last one. If I am invited to interview, I am dreading to think of their reaction. Naturally, I can't just sneak away by not telling them (nearest Train station is 7 miles away), but if I do tell them, I will be patronised with things like "DO YOU NEVER LISTEN!!??" "WHY HAVE YOU NEVER TAKEN ANY OF OUR ADVICE!!??"