Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    In true student tradition, I have left my study abroad application to near enough the last minute, and I was just wondering if anyone would give me some advice as to what to put on the end of my motivation letter?
    Here's what I have so far:
    To whomever it may concern,
    I am writing to express my interest in participating, with your consent, in the Erasmus+ program which allows students to expand their cultural horizons through studying in different places across Europe. It is my utmost belief that political science in particular is a subject which requires a degree of intercultural relation and understanding in order to be adequately applied, hence my desire to submerge myself in cities which are foreign to me, to explore and understand the surrounding world to a greater extent.
    At present, I am a student of Politics at the University of Glasgow, completing the second semester of my second year. Outside of this, I am an active member of the Glasgow University Feminist Committee and a volunteer for the Young Persons Befriending Service, which aims to pair vulnerable or disadvantaged children with adults who are able to support and aid them in whatever way they can. These aspects of my character, I hope, prove that I am driven and dedicated to the general improvement of life – whether that be by joining the ranks of my fellow feminists to strive for intersectional equality, or simply by sparing an hour or so a week to spend time with a lonely child. In addition, I frequently perform poetry for both the university’s spoken word poetry community (ALOUD) and the Scottish Writer’s Centre at Glasgow’s Centre for Contemporary Arts (CCA). Though this is an activity which is quite new to me, I feel it has taught me a great deal about confidence, performance, public speech and, above all, engaging with and understanding an audience – skills which, with any luck, will aid me i