Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys

I'm an international student (greetings from Cyprus!) about to send off my last 4 portfolio requirements to my chosen universities. I've applied to University of Edinburgh, Glasgow School of Art, Falmouth University, Loughborough University and University of Southampton.

Before anyone asks why London wasn't in any of my options - I wanted to spare myself from having to sell my kidney to pay rent and all that. Moving on:

The Falmouth application is finished since I had an interview there in December which got me a conditional offer which, given that it's a design course, isn't difficult at all to achieve (260 tariff points). I'm currently about to finish the modified portfolio for the other four, but I find myself at a loss on deciding on a definite option in terms of studying.

Glasgow and Edinburgh both have the reputation, but there's no denying Edinburgh has the upper hand. Maybe I haven't researched enough, but it looks like GSA doesn't have an advantage over the others other than from just name/reputation alone. It has the lowest employment rates of all my choices, as well as satisfaction. Edinburgh however is ranked quite highly for design courses and I've heard consistently stellar things about both the university and the city itself. One of my teachers told me to not even think about it - if I have a chance at Edinburgh, I should be there in a heartbeat. Scotland's monetary relief is also appreciated. What worries me about Edinburgh is that it doesn't offer a placement year, something I think of as important since today you need all the experience you can get to land a job, especially in the design field. On the other hand, I've been told I can pursue placement on my own over the summer without doing so through the university itself, which is a redeeming factor. Aside from all this though, the ~9% acceptance rate isn't something to scoff at.