2015 A Level Reform Cambridge Application Issues

Watch
Ali Jord
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi all,
I am currently studying maths, further maths, physics and chemistry in year 12 (I intend to take them all at A2 level), and I intend to apply to Cambridge as my first option.

However, I noticed on the Cambridge Application website, it mentions that Cambridge puts heavy emphasis on AS results.

My problem is that my school isn't offering the AS exams, so my question is, since my school isn't offering the AS exams, am I at a disadvantage when applying for Cambridge?

Thanks in advance.
sweeneyrod
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
The lack of AS exams is a recent change, so it is difficult to say how Cambridge will adapt. Certainly, many other people will be in the same position as you, so you will not be at an intrinsic disadvantage. However, you will probably be judged more on your GCSE's, admissions tests, personal statement, predictions etc. than applicants in previous years.
Doones
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
You probably saw this or the press coverage of it:
http://www.undergraduate.study.cam.a...ication-reform

Specifically:
"For the 2015-17 cohort of students starting their sixth form studies in an environment where there is likely to be a mixture of reformed and unreformed A Levels, we will continue to use UMS in those subjects that retain it. We strongly encourage potential applicants to take AS Level examinations in at least three, and preferably four, subjects, whether reformed or not, at the end of Year 12. This will provide us with a strong measure of applicants’ recent academic progress, will assist us and the students in judging whether an application to Cambridge is likely to be competitive, and will provide reassurance that grade predictions are not relied upon too heavily in a new system."