Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm a final year medical student, sitting finals this spring.

I'm really starting to think that I am not cut out for medicine. I do well academically and get good feedback on placements so I should be fine. But the whole thing makes me so tired and anxious. A few months after the start of clinical years I had to take a year out because I wasn't coping. Since then I have not been overly engaged (e.g. bare minimum amount of time spent on the wards) because I feel tired and anxious all the time. I feel so much dread when Monday comes around and get next to no sleep which compounds things. I realise that as a student I have no responsibility yet here I am still struggling.

I thought maybe I had depression / anxiety, but it is purely situational. For example I had most of last month off for revision, and while friends of mine were stressed and getting no sleep I felt like a weight had been lifted. I started sleeping through the night, felt so much happier doing revision in my own time, and did really well in the exams.

Then placement started again on monday. I got no sleep on sunday night because I was dreading the next day, but got through the day thinking it would be better after I had slept. Then last night I again got no sleep despite being exhausted. I emailed my consultant at 6am to say I wouldnt be in. I feel awful from 2 nights of no sleep - and am honestly not exaggerating. I now also feel anxious about what everyone will think of me being absent on day 2.