Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I graduated this year in BA German and Linguistics and after a complete reevaluation of what I want to do, I have decided that my preferred subject for postgraduate study would be Astrophysics. I understand that this seems as though this is a decision made completely out of the blue, and I have little proof for the fact that it was my initial preference for undergraduate study, and a last-minute decision led me to pursue languages instead. Academically my record is not bad, having interviewed at Oxford prior to choosing Queen Mary and then graduating with a high grade and a prize for being one of the top of my German class. I studied Physics and Mathematics at A-Level, and I did well in both. I am currently working as a project assistant at LSE in the department of Managerial Economics. I don't want my record to show that I am constantly flitting from one subject to another, although understandably it comes off that way!

What I'm asking is, for those familiar with the subject, do I have any chance of getting in if the only requirement I fill is the fact that I studied the required subjects during my A-Levels? Is there any point in applying or should I reevaluate my decision again? It is genuinely what I believe I could excel in, and I read up on the subject as regularly as I can for my own enjoyment.

Thanks for any help.

ReputationRep:
    No chance, you lack 2 years worth of university mathematics where you'll be covering the mathematics behind general relativity ect.

ReputationRep:
    You need to study a Bsc in physics or astrophysics first.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SpaceCaptain)