Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm a first year student and i've just finished my first semester which I hated every minute of. firstly, I'm not really enjoying the lectures/seminars, I'm struggling to stay interested even though it a subject I love. Secondly, i'm really alone, I haven't managed to make even one friend on my course or in the university. I'm living at home, but it's just me and my mum. I don't want to drop out but I have n idea what other courses to do or how to go about moving around now. But I also I don't want to go back, the whole experience has mad me really down and has impacted my health negatively.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by gfm123)
    I'm a first year student and i've just finished my first semester which I hated every minute of. firstly, I'm not really enjoying the lectures/seminars, I'm struggling to stay interested even though it a subject I love. Secondly, i'm really alone, I haven't managed to make even one friend on my course or in the university. I'm living at home, but it's just me and my mum. I don't want to drop out but I have n idea what other courses to do or how to go about moving around now. But I also I don't want to go back, the whole experience has mad me really down and has impacted my health negatively.
    speak to someone in admissions about how to swap courses.

You can think of changing course, university or dropping out and going to a job (I am personally against this one).

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    It sounds like depression, actually: Loss of interest, loneliness.

A major change like University can have that; There's no easy answer, I'm afraid. There is medication or talking to someone.

I'd recommend finding something you're interested in and joining a society if you're really lonely - Put yourself out there. You deserve better than to sit at home alone. That can be very dehumanizing.

ReputationRep: