Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    This is the first time I'm posting something on TSR, so just wanted to say hi everyone

I'm studying Maths at UCL and I'm thinking of applying to Oxbrige for a MSc, however my first year exam grades really suck (no, this is not the party all throughout your first year cause grades don't matter situation, but I've had to work part-time from the very first days at uni as I'm a foreign student and unfortunately I've got to support myself through university - however, this really doesn't matter). My overall grade is a 2.1 (67%), and out of 8 exams I've passed 7 with a 1st and 2.1, but the other exam is a 3rd, and I know this could really be a deal-breaker.

My second year results will be much better as I've got a lot more time on my hands to spend on studying, hopefully I'll get more than 80 - 85% in most exams, but do you guys think it would be reasonable for me to apply for a MSc at Oxbridge? Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    If you get marks in the 80-85% and your first year performance won't affect your academic references, then it's definitely worth applying. However you normally wouldn't apply until later in your undergrad degree, so you should have a better track record by that point.

For info, Oxford (don't know about Cambridge) bar students from paid employment during term time. You will need to have the means to support yourself before you start your course (it's one of the questions asked on the application form).

Plus the high International fees might be a problem if money is already an issue.

ReputationRep:
    Thanks so much for replying!

Hopefully I will be able to save some money until then and not have to work part-time. However, I have just done some research and couldn't find anything about Oxford not allowing students to work during term time (it's not encouraged apparently due to the intensive workload, but it's not forbidden), are you sure about that?