Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm studying... Audiology

My study level is... University undergraduate

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by monum)
    I'm studying... Audiology

My study level is... University undergraduate
    I'm looking into studying audiology. How's it going so far? Do you enjoy it?

ReputationRep:
    I'm also studying Audiology - first year at Southampton and loving it! Have just finished my first placement. What uni are you at?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ayeeel)
    I'm also studying Audiology - first year at Southampton and loving it! Have just finished my first placement. What uni are you at?
    I'm not at univeristy yet but ive applied to aston manchester and southampton. Can you describe the things that you do and whats the best/worst part of it/ thank you

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by honeylooloo)
    I'm not at univeristy yet but ive applied to aston manchester and southampton. Can you describe the things that you do and whats the best/worst part of it/ thank you
    All the courses are the same in content (part of the government's Modernising Scientific Careers programme: https://www.gov.uk/government/upload.../dh_123911.pdf)

There is a lot of detail on the individual modules at Southampton here: http://www.southampton.ac.uk/enginee...y.page#modules

But basically, this first year is a general introduction and covers general anatomy and physiology as well as theory and practice in audiology, clinical neurophysiology and vision science. There's also a general background in physics for the acoustics involved and a very interesting module on how perception of sensation is different from the signals themselves (psychophysics).