Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

NHS Health Care Assistant interview advice please? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone! Just wondering if anyone had ever had an interview for a HCA role before. This one is within a mental health hospital.

On the site it says there will be a written test and a group discussion, but doesn't give any more details than that? Any thing group literally terrifies me as I am hugely anxious and a little awkward in social situations. I have dropped out of schools and colleges due to fear and there have been many job interviews I just couldn't go to - or felt I couldn't at least - as I'd got myself in such a state. But there have been jobs I have managed to hold down for at least a year. I've recently left my retail job which I did for over a year to find something more suited to my interests.

I've also got an NVQ 3 in Health and Social Care and 1 A Level in Psychology, and 6 GCSE passes.

I worked as a carer visiting people in their own homes for about a year and I've briefly worked in a nursery.

I have done placements in a residential care home, a doctors surgery and shadowing a hospital mental health team.

But in interview situations I really struggle to show off the best version of me because I totally clam up and just sit and shake. Was wondering if anyone had gone for a similar interview and what it was like? I think the fact it is NHS and also a job I really want makes it even scarier.

ReputationRep:
    Update: It went well and I got the job! I have just started! It took nearly 4 months to actually start work after being offered the job though (apparently that's common for the NHS).

If anyone is in the same boat and wants to know what they can possibly expect , I made a post here about my experience:

http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/show...3#post62374073

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by tinkerbelle2)