Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I am a first year student on an adult nursing course but am really keen to switch to midwifery. Has anyone done this before? Would I have to start from the beginning of the course or could I join on at year 2 for midwifery if I complete me first year Adult Nursing course? Any help is much appreciated!

Apologies if I've posted in the wrong place, I don't come on here much.

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    Hey, I switched courses after completing my first year (unrelated to your choices though). I had to start again from year 1 at the same uni. However, I suspect there may be some overlap between nursing and midwifery and your first year credits may count towards a midwifery degree. The best thing to do is to talk to the admissions tutor for midwifery at the university you want to study at, which may well be your current uni and see what they say. It's definitely worth a chat with them, and it's definitely worth finishing your first year as that will gain you a Certificate in Higher Education. If you're sure you want to switch, even if you have to start from year 1 again, I think it's probably worth doing to be happy in your future career. Best of luck.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Kingski)