Parents separated mid way through degree

Watch this thread
Naaadiiiaaa
Badges: 1
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hi, I am in my third year and currently on a year abroad. I'm currently on the minimum loan amount due to my fathers earnings, however my father left my family home in October 2014 and since then my parents have been separated. They are still currently going through the divorce proceedings, but I only live with my mother outside of term times. My mother is a part-time nurse and so doesn't make anywhere near enough to support me financially during my degree, however since my father has left and is now supporting his new partner and her child in a separate home he is not in a position to support me as much as we have assumed when I applied for my degree. This has led to me not having enough to even pay my rent, before I even consider feeding myself. Due to medical conditions getting a part-time job is not an option for me unfortunately.

Because of this I was wondering if I had any way of re-applying for student finance for the 2015/2016 academic year under my mothers earnings? Of if tax dates meant I still have to consider my fathers earnings for this academic year. As far as I am aware I should have no issues getting more in my 4th and final year as they should have finished divorce proceedings by then, my query is more about my current position. Any help would be much appreciated.
Mark Lee - SFE Official Adviser
Badges: 6
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 6 years ago
Hi

If your parents separate or you have separated from your partner during the academic year and wish their income details to be removed from your application, you will need to provide evidence of separation.