Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

The struggle with the numeracy skills test thread ! Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone,

So I've been applying to do my PGCE at Exeter and two other institutions in the south west.

I have an interview today, and they accepted me the day after I applied. I didn't know about the qts tests until last week. To make matters worse, they set the interview four days after. After not doing any mental arithmatic for about 6 years, I struggled in a practice test and failed. Meanwhile the literacy test I got almost 100% simply because I'm an English graduate and want to teach English.

I don't mind the new rule that you have to take a numeracy test. But I feel that i might fail the numeracy test in the interview today. Will this affect me getting into the course ?

Luckily, my acual qts test is on February 11th. Enough time for me to prop up my maths weakness. I still can't believe I was good at maths at GCSEs, I really enjoyed it too. Now it seems like a different language to me.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ellaa_elh)
    Hello everyone,

So I've been applying to do my PGCE at Exeter and two other institutions in the south west.

I have an interview today, and they accepted me the day after I applied. I didn't know about the qts tests until last week. To make matters worse, they set the interview four days after. After not doing any mental arithmatic for about 6 years, I struggled in a practice test and failed. Meanwhile the literacy test I got almost 100% simply because I'm an English graduate and want to teach English.

I don't mind the new rule that you have to take a numeracy test. But I feel that i might fail the numeracy test in the interview today. Will this affect me getting into the course ?