Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Opinion: the optimal age to start higher education Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    So recently I've been thinking, what might be the best age to start your university degree?
    Granted, this is an opinion, and I'm by no means an expert, this is just my own personal opinion, and figured it would be interesting to hear yours.

Personally, I think the optimal age range to start your undergraduate studies would be 19-22 years old, and here's why.

First off, I think too many young people are pressured to start their university degree as soon as possible even though they might not be mentally and physically prepared. Or too many young people assume that there's no other option than to start studying in university. It's common nowadays that people start university right after they finish their A-levels or IB education. Most people are 17 or 18 years old when they finish, and then usually start their bachelor degree at the age of 18. But by then, you've already attended school for quite a number of years, without really trying or seeing anything else. This could be one possible reason for why some dropout from university or lack motivation, simply because they're tired of studying and need a break from it. Secondly, taking a gap year would allow people to take a break from studying, and they have the possibility to do something entirely different. Whether that be earning some money or traveling and seeing the world.
    On the other hand, if you start university too late, you might already be set in your ways or you don't have that studying habit that is required. I think the first problem with starting too late, is to even start the application process. Say you've been out of school for 5-7 years, and you'd think, why even bother going back to university now? The same problem as with starting too early, is that you might not have the motivation to start studying again.