The Student Room Group

French or German?

Hi all. I am in Year 8 and in the process of choosing my GCSEs. I'm taking Spanish as well. So far, we've been doing French and Spanish in Year 7&8 however we have not yet tried German and I have no experience of it. I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on what employers would look for and possibly how the languages compare in terms of difficulty. All comments appreciated.

Scroll to see replies

Depends on the employer really.

I'd say German is a lot more difficult than French, but since you're studying Spanish, you should continue with French.
I've heard German is easier than French for British people to learn ?
Apparently German is easier than French
Reply 4
French bears more similarity to the English language than German, but has some of the most complex (and illogical) grammar as far as European languages go.

Which one do you enjoy more? You don't want to be stuck doing a language that you have no passion for, over the next two years.

EDIT: Just remembered you have no experience of German. If you enjoy Spanish now you'll enjoy French so the latter is probably the safer bet. But you may surprise yourself if you try out something different!
(edited 8 years ago)
Original post by elen90
French bears more similarity to the English language than German, but has some of the most complex (and illogical) grammar as far as European languages go.

Which one do you enjoy more? You don't want to be stuck doing a language that you have no passion for, over the next two years.

In what way?
Reply 6
Original post by Student403
In what way?

Generally the fact that a heck of a lot of French words are either identical to or resemble English words. For instance, the majority of English words ending in -ation are the same in French.
Original post by Hectxrp