Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Chartered Accountancy confusion! Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Sorry but this is probably going to be a bit of a complicated and lengthy question from someone relatively clueless. I currently work in a Stock Control role for an online retail site. I deal with invoices and the finance department somewhat but I have little to no knowledge of accountancy. I do, however, hold a degree in Mathematics. Due to severe illness during my course I, unfortunately, came out with a 3rd class degree. I do, however, have 390 UCAS points (A-level results AAB - one of which is Maths)
    I am ideally wanting to become a Chartered Accountant. I have researched the possible avenues I can take into this but am a little confused as to where I begin and where my background puts me in terms of starting off. I've looked into Graduate schemes but these all ask for 2:1 degree classifications, which I don't have. My original plan was to do the AAT whilst working in my current role (just by studying in my spare time) but would, obviously, much prefer a job that provides on the job training. Also, after researching accountancy, I would prefer to go into Chartered accountancy. I believe that ACCA is the way to do this?

Can anyone give me some advice as to what I should do/what my first step should be? Am I going to have to start off on the same foot as those without a degree? Is there any chance that I can get a place on a Graduate Scheme?Any help would be greatly appreciated - I'm hard working and I believe I am more than capable of studying hard whilst also working hard. I've had experience in full-time employment so I have gained disciplinary and time-management skills - I just had some bad luck whilst doing my degree.ThanksCheryl

ReputationRep:
    Hi,