Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm considering going back to Uni to study either Nursing (Child) or Midwifery- I haven't actually decided which yet!

I already have A levels in ICT, Photography and Film Studies, with the highest grade being a C in Film Studies. I also did an Art and Design Foundation year and a degree in Film Production. I graduated nearly 6 years ago and attempted to get into teaching but was unsuccessful getting onto a post 16 PGCE so have just been working in retail since and doing bits and bobs of work experience in film.

I have been volunteering at Brownies for a year and recently applied for a position in a nursery which I have just been offered!

What would the best route into either one of my options be? The position I was offered is part time to start with but leading to full time and I will be studying towards my level 2 NVQ. I have looked into possibly doing an Access course as my A level subjects are not relevant enough for either degree, and I do not meet the criteria for my local University at the moment.

Although, the access courses nearby are 3-4 days a week which I won't be able to commit to with my new job. Is there any way of doing it via distance learning? Would my other option be to self teach A levels- bearing in mind I wouldn't be able to do any practical assessments for science subjects.

Has anyone out there managed to figure out a way to do this?

Just to clarify, I considered a career in Midwifery back when I was at school but then chose different options when I went to college which is why I didn't do any relevant A levels at the time. I would also be classed as a mature student as I am 30 this year.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by clara_oswald)
    I'm considering going back to Uni to study either Nursing (Child) or Midwifery- I haven't actually decided which yet!