Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Supporting partner in getting a better job while keeping the faith myself Watch

Announcements

Just graduated from University, and my partner graduated a couple months ago. We're both particularly stressed because we are trying to make ends meet. She is renting a two bed house, and barely scrapping by on minimum wage because she can't get a better paying job.

I'm equally as stressed because I'm still working in my zero hour contract min wage job, and I can't really help her out. I'm literally sending the last of my wages to her.

Problem is, she is getting increasingly depressed and down about never having any money. She literally can't afford to eat, and is spending money on rent and bills straight away as well as buses to work.

Now I know people may judge us here, but she has a BA degree in Theatre (2:1) and I have a BA degree in Digital Media. I'm looking for work in Graphic Design. She's basically looking for anything other than retail, fast food and min wage. Shes just so down about it. She's got varied experience- worked in a summer school, pub work, waiting on. She still can't get any work. She doesn't want to go into theatre because of the lack of opportunity. She can't afford to retrain either as she has no money.

I'm stressed out because it is getting me down. I don't know what to do anymore. i'm losing faith that I'll ever get a graduate job.

Any constructive advice?

ReputationRep:
    When life gives you lemons make lemonade.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by hoping4Astars)
    or ask to swap it for something better like wine

(Original post by hoping4Astars)
    Trying to keep an optimistic outlook, but it is very hard in this economic climate. Especially when my partner is down, and I know there is virtually nothing I can do about this.

Its bad enough that I'm pretty pessimistic at the moment.

ReputationRep: