The Student Room Group

Dropping Further Maths at A2

Right so I'm currently studying Maths, Further, Physics and Economics at AS.

I am not entirely sure what I want to do in the future. Some form of engineering most likely, but anything maths/science related for sure. I also can't decide between uni and an apprenticeship.

So anyway, of the subjects I am doing, Further Maths is unsurprisingly the hardest. I've also heard that it's very tough at A2. I chose it in the first place as I knew that, despite how tough it was, it could potentially give me that edge over people just studying maths when applying for uni/jobs.

Which brings me onto my dilemma. How useful would an A2 in Further Maths be over just an AS? Would I still get that "edge" if I only have an AS in Further Maths? I don't want to risk doing it for A2 and ending up with a B/C, when I could have got an A in another subject.

The alternative would probably be dropping Economics. I know it's obviously not as useful as FM for engineering and related courses, but isn't just an AS in FM good enough?
(edited 8 years ago)
You've already put 5 months into your further maths A2. There's no point in dropping it.
Reply 2
Original post by morgan8002
You've already put 5 months into your further maths A2. There's no point in dropping it.

Sorry, typo :'D I meant I'm currently doing AS. I corrected it now.
Original post by aadil10
Sorry, typo :'D I meant I'm currently doing AS. I corrected it now.

DONT YOU DARE DROP IT! You can get through this I also do further maths! You just need to work hard and you can to very well in it :biggrin: we havent even started FP1 yet so look at my situation so you can do well in it all it takes is hard work determination and most of all A FIRE IN YOUR BELLY TO DO WELL!
Don't give up, don't drop it, you could use it at an interview saying 'i didnt drop further maths when i found it difficult and then i did really well with my grade of '...' '
Whatever grade you aiming for :smile: