Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm a student that can potentially receive the full maintenance loan at £8,200 per year and an additional grant from my university of £2,500 per year.

I want to know, seeing as the loan is the cheapest loan I'll ever get, how much I would roughly have after a year of uni. What costs do I have to account for other than accommodation, food, and clothes?

I reckon it's way cheaper for me to keep the rest of my loan money in a savings account than it is to pay it back (more beneficial for me than to cut the loan as I wouldn't end up saving enough to justify all that cash). For example, could use the money for a mortgage or a car, instead of paying it back, as it's essentially the cheapest loan there is.

ReputationRep:
    Once you start uni you'll realise that your loan is gone in no time lol
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by TrojanH)
    I'm a student that can potentially receive the full maintenance loan at £8,200 per year and an additional grant from my university of £2,500 per year.

I want to know, seeing as the loan is the cheapest loan I'll ever get, how much I would roughly have after a year of uni. What costs do I have to account for other than accommodation, food, and clothes?

I reckon it's way cheaper for me to keep the rest of my loan money in a savings account than it is to pay it back (more beneficial for me than to cut the loan as I wouldn't end up saving enough to justify all that cash). For example, could use the money for a mortgage or a car, instead of paying it back, as it's essentially the cheapest loan there is.
    Depends on where the university is, the rent could easily take up between 3.5-5k of it. Other costs would be travel home and books and going out and a deposit or advance rent for 2nd year accommodation too.

ReputationRep: