Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Right, so basically, I go to university at Sheffield Hallam and I'm currently in my second year doing Events Management. However, it wasn't at all what I expected it to be, and I even considered dropping out in my first year to go into Adult Nursing, but I decided to keep at my course. I stayed at my course to give it a chance (big mistake), and I now regret not leaving when I first knew that Events Management wasn't for me.

This year I am incredibly demotivated, and I've even put little effort into my coursework, meaning that I am only just passing the modules. I believe this is all down to the fact I am no longer enjoying my course and find it all incredibly boring. Not to mention my second year at university has come with quite a few bumps in the road, including my car getting broken into, my house having damp problems and learning about some of my own health problems.

Having now realised that I should have quit Events Management to study what I initially wanted to do, I have started applying to do Adult Nursing, and I have applied to get experience through St John Ambulance and anything else I can do.

However, I don't know whether to get my Events Management degree first or to just drop out after this year. One main issue of this decision for me is that the course I'm doing now is £9000 a year, excluding the maintenance loans I have been getting. If I finish my degree, I will have to pay for 3 years of my first degree and then three years to do Adult Nursing. Whereas if I drop out this year and go into Adult Nursing, I would be entitled to the NHS funding.
    What should I do about this situation? I am also planning on going to speak to my university about a possible transfer? Do you think that would be possible?
    Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you!
    Changing career paths sucks.

ReputationRep: