Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am thinking of doing a summer placement. I am in my first year I was just wondering if anyone has done a summer placement and what they gained from it. Also my degree has a placement year...did you spend a year in industry? Has it helped you get employment?

I am hoping to do a placement within ICT as my degree is computer related.
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by urbanlocations)
    I am thinking of doing a summer placement. I am in my first year I was just wondering if anyone has done a summer placement and what they gained from it. Also my degree has a placement year...did you spend a year in industry? Has it helped you get employment?

I am hoping to do a placement within ICT as my degree is computer related.
    Hello

I did work experience in the summer of my first year, and it was quite useful as the role involved a lot of IT skills (particularly Excel), was enjoyable and gave me a fair bit to talk about on applications. After the placement I did a bit more on Excel and took an online test to show that I was an intermediate at Excel, so that was quite useful.

I can't say much about a placement year as I'm starting mine this year (hopefully!) but you may find this thread useful.

ReputationRep:
    A placement is an excellent way of establishing a professional job reference (as long as you make a good impression!). Your uni can provide a reference which relates to your abilities as a student. However a reference resulting from a placement can comment on your qualities as a potential employee in a working environment. Always useful to have.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SeanFM)
    Hello