Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Are MacBooks worth it? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi there!

I am a year 13 student going to uni next year to study English and History of Art. I currently have a HP which is on its last legs (it is getting old to be fair) and so I am beginning to look for a new laptop.

I have and iPhone and IPad which I use a lot for A-Level Art but I find it a pain to sync with my laptop as we all know how much Apple OS and Windows OS hate each other! which is the first reason why I considered the transfer to a Mac.

I know of many who have Macs and love them, but I personally know nothing about them so I thought I would ask you guys for some advice.

For uni all I want for a laptop is:
    For it to be light weight (even as a notebook my HP weighs a tonne)
    To have good storage (my current laptop has 8GB and I use external hardrives for backups)
    A decent size (notebooks are convenient but sometimes annoying to type long essays on, but not massive either
    Long battery life

I know macs have a bum load of other features but my focus will predominantly be on storing photographs, essays and other uni business.

Do you think I should go for it or invest in another HP?

Thank you!
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    I've had no problems syncing my ipod and ipad with my laptop, which is a lenovo. I personally wouldn't buy a macbook. I'd rather buy something else that's cheaper. You can pick up some decent laptops for a few hundred pounds now.

Are you sure your laptop only has 8GB storage?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by A.Van-Ellison)
    Hi there!

I am a year 13 student going to uni next year to study English and History of Art. I currently have a HP which is on its last legs (it is getting old to be fair) and so I am beginning to look for a new laptop.