Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

When would be the best time to take A level Maths? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi,In the summer I achieved a C in gcse maths, I started studying Economics, French and Law and I love economics and I realised that I need maths if I wish to study it at a top university.I re-took maths in November and achieved a grade A (note- I started higher maths 5 months before June). I am currently on track for 3 A's in AS however I am not sure whether taking AS level maths next year would be sensible because it could mean that i spend less time on my other subjects if i find maths really hard.
    I am taking a gap year and I would like to apply to Cambridge or LSE then, my dad thinks I should take the whole A level maths in my gap year as a third year student however I think I should do As maths next year (y13) and then A2 and maybe Further Maths AS in my gap year...What is your opinion? What will LSE and Cambridge etc prefer.Many thanks

ReputationRep:
    Getting the minimum grades for the Cambridge/LSE course should be the number one priority so I would be inclined to agree with your dad.

However, if you feel like you can handle the AS in your second year, I would do it then as it will show your intent to study Economics (and, if you do well, competence at maths), which will be helpful when you come to apply for the uni courses.

Up to you - only you know what you're capable of.

Ta.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Bigpaddy27)