The Student Room Group

Social work placement problems

Hi
I am currently in my final year of my social work degree, today I have been removed from my placement with 35 days left to go. I have not been treat great, and my onsite supervisor clearly didn't like me from the start. I have been ignored, not supported, not guided and now been removed from my placement with no explanation from my uni only told I cannot go back to placement. I have no idea what I have done but now I do not know where I stand. Does anyone have any advice?

Thank you
Original post by Caroline5868
Hi
I am currently in my final year of my social work degree, today I have been removed from my placement with 35 days left to go. I have not been treat great, and my onsite supervisor clearly didn't like me from the start. I have been ignored, not supported, not guided and now been removed from my placement with no explanation from my uni only told I cannot go back to placement. I have no idea what I have done but now I do not know where I stand. Does anyone have any advice?

Thank you

You need to try again with the uni staff- firstly the person whose organising the placements and failing that your advisor. Make clear you want to meet with them to discuss why you were removed. Failing that you need to go to your student union- they should have someone who can help with course problems such as yours.
Reply 2
Original post by jelly1000
You need to try again with the uni staff- firstly the person whose organising the placements and failing that your advisor. Make clear you want to meet with them to discuss why you were removed. Failing that you need to go to your student union- they should have someone who can help with course problems such as yours.

Hi thank you, I have been removed due to the concerns after I confided in a colleague from the team. That I had expressed I was unhappy with my supervisor, my placement thought it was best I didn't carry on.