Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Volunteer work - science or children Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I am currently in my first year of sixth form and am looking for volunteering experiences to boost my CV and to help me decide what I want to do. I am studying biology, chemistry, German and maths and am thinking of studying biomedical sciences in university, but I'm not really sure.I went to a nursery for my work experience in year 10 and thoroughly enjoyed working with children. I also coach the younger children of my local swimming club. I love working with children but I can't decide whether I should work with children or pursue a more scientific path.
    I was thinking getting some work experience in both areas would help me decide, but I'm really struggling to come up with ideas for scientific work experiences I'd be allowed to do since I'm only 16. Does anyone have ideas?
    I was also wondering if anyone knows of any volunteer work I could do abroad with children. I like the idea of going to Africa to work with less privileged children, or something similar but I can't find anywhere that will let me do that before I'm 18. Does anyone have any suggestions?
    Thank you

Hey, for scientific work experience check Nuffield Placements out - I did one last summer and it gave me quite a bit of insight!

http://www.nuffieldfoundation.org/nu...rch-placements

As for what you want to do, think about the specific careers in each of the fields and weigh up their pros and cons

ReputationRep:
    I've dropped you a private message OPJD, I hope it finds you in good time.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by enaayrah)
    Hey, for scientific work experience check Nuffield Placements out - I did one last summer and it gave me quite a bit of insight!

http://www.nuffieldfoundation.org/nu...rch-placements

As for what you want to do, think about the specific careers in each of the fields and weigh up their pros and cons