Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Is anyone studying to be a mental health nurse a bit later in life who has a partner and children. I am considering a career change and expect it to be very difficult. Trying to overcome the cost of living, time management and the general challenges of studying. Please tell me about it.

ReputationRep:
    I was a mature nursing student with a partner but not with kids. Many on my cohort did also have kids too though so I know it is possible. Their kids were a bit older (slightly more self sufficient and out at school all day which helped) although one or two had kids in nursery. They were able to get assistance with childcare fees from the government to allow them to get to placements so I know there is money out there and the money forum on TSR this week should be able to give you details about how to access it and how to apply.

Many people come into nursing as a mature student. There is a large variety of people in the profession with different backgrounds and you will not feel alone. No need to worry about being the oldest in uni as I am sure others will be older still. Take heart from the fact you have life/people skills that the school leavers don't. You already know how to manage a work life balance from your current life, so you treat uni and placements like you do your current job and you will be fine.

You will need to budget for loss of earnings though. The loan/bursary helps but you may not be able to maintain your current standard of living/holidays/nights out/school trips....etc.

Good luck.

ReputationRep:
    Thankyou for taking the time to respond. I appreciate it.

ReputationRep:
    Not a problem. Good luck.

ReputationRep: