The Student Room Group

How good do you have to be at maths to do well in A Level Computing?

(I know that the title seems like something a total novice would say, and I do apologise... however silly it may sound though, this is something I'm genuinely worried about.)

Right now I am studying Computing in Y10. I've always loved the subject :colondollar: Especially now in the GCSE course!

However, I am not so good at Maths than I am in Computing. At all. Where in Computing I'm predicted an A*, in Maths I'm *supposed* to get an A* too even though my teacher has predicted me to get a B at best. I'm certainly not a 'mathsy' person, nor can I say that I like it. I've tried to convince myself that if I'll love the subject, I'll be good at it. Hahahah. I've kinda come to accept the truth now :frown:

I have heard that when taking Computing for A levels, it'll be handy to take Mathematics too. Knowing I'm definitely NOT going to get an A* in GCSE Maths, there's no point in considering the struggle A level Maths will bring. And Maths is a very sought after degree too, which pairs very well with a Computer Science degree, so that piles on to my worries.

Whilst GCSE Computing is easy for me, I want to study it at college but I'm really worried about the amount of skill at math I'll need. I can learn binary and its principles fine, and I believe that I'll understand things like lambda - all assuming I have a calculator handy to calculate them.

Can you use a calculator if necessary? Are you required to be adept at any mental calculations? How much of the course is 'mathsy'? And will I really need to waste an option doing something I resent just so I can understand low-level Computing?

(Or is there an Maths side-course, that doesn't count as a main one, that can help me out on basic math? I don't mind having a Maths tutor in college, as long as it's free - I simply won't have the money.)

Thanks in advance for the help :smile:
Meee tooo i need know aswell Pm me X