Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

BEng and master or MEng and master in 5 years ? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone I am an international student and I have some questions regarding the BEng program in Mechanical engineering at Surrey.
    If I do a BEng course is it possible to switch to the MEng program ? If so when can I do it and what are the criterias ?What is better between a MEng course + 1 year of a master or a BEng + 2 years of a master ?
    • TSR Support Team
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by acc_moz)
    Hi everyone I am an international student and I have some questions regarding the BEng program in Mechanical engineering at Surrey.
    If I do a BEng course is it possible to switch to the MEng program ? If so when can I do it and what are the criterias ?What is better between a MEng course + 1 year of a master or a BEng + 2 years of a master ?
    1. Depends on the university but generally they probably would let you assuming you have the right grades and let them know early enough
    2. You are aware that the MEng degree is an integrated Masters degree? Why would you do a second Masters degree on top of that?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Plagioclase)
    1. Depends on the university but generally they probably would let you assuming you have the right grades and let them know early enough
    2. You are aware that the MEng degree is an integrated Masters degree? Why would you do a second Masters degree on top of that?
    Thank you for your answer
    Yes I know !
    But in france engineering studies are in 5 years.
    So if I do 5 years of study I will have a better diploma.
    But what do u think is better between BEng + 2 years of master and MEng + 1 year of master ?
    • TSR Support Team
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by acc_moz)
    Thank you for your answer
    Yes I know !