The Student Room Group

Feel hopelessly lonely at uni

This is a long post so I'm reallly sorry but if you can be bothered to read all of it and give me some advice I would really appreciate it. I feel so down at the moment.

So I moved to a london uni, won't say which one, from quite a distance away (Im from the east midlands) in Sept. Its now feb and although i've made a few friends, I haven't made any close friends yet and I feel very lonely

The thing is, the uni is quite a good uni and I am also studying medicine, which naturally attracts the academic kids. I took a gap year, and although thrilled when I got my offer after sooo long, started doubting whether I would fit in and would enjoy it. I assumed most the other students would be from very academic wealthy backgrounds, which I am not, I wouldn't be able to connect with them. Not just on my course, but generally across the uni. of course I haven't talked to every single student, but the majority I have, I hate to say, seem to be exactly that. I'm not from the ghetto by any means but I am not from a wealthy background and my close mates at home are not overly studious etc. I'm just finding it very difficult to connect with anyone on my course other than on a superficial level.

Unlike some people, I was going to uni alone, none of my close mates or even people I knew were going to a london uni.

When travelling to uni on the first day, I could already feel the lonlineless kick in and for the first hour or so I HATED IT. Luckily (or unluckily, as you'll find out later) I met some guy and a girl (his best mate) outside my accomodation who I forced myself to talk to, because at the end of the day I had to try and meet people somehow.

I got along with them, went out with them that night with some others and became close friends with them and their group. I actually end up dating this girl for about 5 weeks.