Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Fashion Management/Marketing at University of Southampton Watch

University Navigation

ReputationRep:
    Is anyone who's been offered a place at Southampton for Fashion Management/Marketing thinking of staying in halls in Southampton instead of Winchester? I'm thinking of staying in Mayflower Halls (if I choose Southampton as my first choice), which is apparently the ideal place to stay if you're thinking about commuting from Southampton to Winchester. Anyone else?

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm a current student at the moment. Even though my course is based in Southampton, I know some people who are studying in Winchester. Mayflower Halls are probably the furthest away you could possibly be. You'd need to take a 20 min bus to the main campus from Southampton and then take the shuttle from there to Winchester (I'm assuming, that's the only place I know of where it stops). You'd be much better staying somewhere like Glen (2 mins on the bus, 5-10 min walk) or Wessex Lane (max 10 mins on the bus). You'd probably need to account for traffic also, especially coming from the city centre.

Hope this helps!

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm studying Fashion Management/Marketing at Winchester in September too hopefully (if I firm it which I think will be likely!)
    I am having the exact same dilemma about accommodation, Mayflower looks soooooooo nice and I think I would rather be in Southampton and then just commute to Winchester. My only concern was that I may be excluding myself from the "Winchester Arts Family"... But yeah Mayflower is what they recommend as it's close to the train station/bus station...

Might see you next year!!

ReputationRep: