Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Looking to start a career in IT/web development Watch

University Navigation

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hey Im 25 and thinking about looking into changing my career to Web development. I have some questions though if anyone can help me.

Am I better off doing a course in Uni or doing courses on Html5, C+ and so on?

Also what are career opportunities like for IT and Web development, is it hard to get a job? And how well does it pay?
    Thanks
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Gman90)
    Hey Im 25 and thinking about looking into changing my career to Web development. I have some questions though if anyone can help me.

Am I better off doing a course in Uni or doing courses on Html5, C+ and so on?

Also what are career opportunities like for IT and Web development, is it hard to get a job? And how well does it pay?
    Thanks
    I have been working in this field for about 4 years, so might be able to offer some help.

What commercial experience do you currently have?

ReputationRep:
    I have no experience at all but keen to start looking more into and perhaps teaching myself some of the basics first, but wondering can someone guide me as to what I need to learn and what courses I should take? Also are there many jobs going in web development and are they hard to get employed in?
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    I have no experience at all but keen to start looking more into and perhaps teaching myself some of the basics first, but wondering can someone guide me as to what I need to learn and what courses I should take? Also are there many jobs going in web development and are they hard to get employed in?
    If you have no commercial experience in web development, do you have any other experience? Perhaps some personal projects you worked on?

Do you have a GitHub profile or a website with a portfolio?