Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm only in my first year studying English Lit. For the first semester I was scrapping pass marks, and although I spoke to my tutor and had extra help, my marks keep going down. I received my third failed essay today and I'm sat here in tears. I don't know why I can't do it. I go to all of the classes, contribute well in seminars, I'm doing all the extra reading etc. I spent two weeks exclusively working on this essay because I was convinced that if I really focused on it and only it, I would do better. But I have done worse. I spoke to my tutor again and she said that there's nothing else she can really do for me, and just to keep reading through the comments she wrote on my essay. I just can't seem to do it. I've tried signing up for the writing classes my uni offers, but they won't give me a place because I passed the original writing ability test with flying colours and I don't have a condition like dyslexia etc. I'm really struggling, and I'm worried that I'm going to have to drop out because I can't really afford to repeat a year.

It's taking away my love for reading. I'm really starting to hate it, and myself. Any advice?

ReputationRep:
    I definitely misinterpreted your title.

ReputationRep:
    Might want to change the title of this before the police knock on your door!

ReputationRep:
    So ironic you are failing english literature and you show a great use of words to express yourself in the title of this thread.

ReputationRep:
    smh religion of peace at it again...

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Demon King)