Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    To get straight to the point (well not quite). I'm in my second year (second semester) of Medical School in a complete and utterly *****y University (UWI to be exact). Being from Trinidad, off course I wrote CAPE and got 7 ones (with distinctions) and 1 two. Specifically, I wrote Biology, Physics, Chemistry and Communication and Caribbean Studies. Anyhow, I applied to only two Universities (UWI St. Augustine and UWI Barbados) haven being previously accepted into UWI Mona.

Basically, I feel as though my school is suffocating me for many reasons.
    1. Our pass mark is ONLY 50%
    2. Our school doesn't even rank in the top 400 medical schools
    3. My chances of becoming anything greater than a regular doctor is slim to none.
    4. There are no specialties in which I am interested in (Cardio-Thoracic Surgeon)
    5. I am unmotivated and relaxed, the environment isn't challenging and I need pressure to thrive. Literally, the only reason I did well in CAPE was a result of having no teachers.
    6. This university is the MOST disorganized and lackadaisical organization you WILL EVER come across.
    7. It has the worst syllabus and structure
    8. We don't do real dissections for anatomy only pre- dissected specimens that have been preserved.
    9. My school is filled with racists students (not that it is such an issue)
    10. I don't need to think, all I have to do is regurgitate information in order to pass exams
    11. Most of our lectures are - let's just say they aren't the best
    12. We only scratch the surfaces of topics in Physiology and Anatomy. Biochemistry being somewhat irrelevant.
    13. The students are immature, like 99% of them should be classed as 2 years old
    14. I know I'm wasting my time and a lot of students left to go to other universities (but they applied before entering UWI)
    1. Many more reasons like these.