Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,

I am in my last year of a mathematics degree and I have applied to medical statistics at the places above. I have an offer from ucl and an interview with lshtm.

I was wondering if anyone else had applied for 2016/17 entry?
    Also if anyone has taken the course would you be able to explain what it's like day-to-day and the difficulty of the course content? I have covered a lot of statistics during my undergrad and was interested in the level of statistics that I would be going on to learn.

Any help would be great.

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    Hey there,

I'm afraid I can't give any advice but I'm currently also looking at MScs in Medical Statistics for 2016/17 entry, but probably as a part time (and long distance) student to complete alongside my current job if I can get a deal my employer and I are both happy with.

Im currently working as a programmer in clinical trials (from a life science/clinical background) and looking to move further into stats and hopefully become a proper statistician.

In general I reckon you'd find the stats /maths part of the course much easier than I would, but I'd be more used to the clinical aspect, context and the scientific reading/writing.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Floob)

Im currently working as a programmer in clinical trials (from a life science/clinical background) and looking to move further into stats and hopefully become a proper statistician.
    Hi there,
    Thanks for the response What made you decide to become more involved in statistics if you don't mind my asking? Also what does being a programmer in clinical trials consist of?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by chibi_oc)
    Hi there,
    Thanks for the response What made you decide to become more involved in statistics if you don't mind my asking? Also what does being a programmer in clinical trials consist of?