Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Sick of Uni. Graduate now with a 2:2 BEng or next year, possibly with a 2:1 MEng? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi, this is a bit of a waffle but I'd really be grateful for opinions.

I'm in my third year of an Engineering degree at a top Uni. I'm sick of student life, I'm sick of my course (boring af), not interested in the field, I'm sick of exams/coursework and I just want to move back into the world of work. In recent years I've accepted that I'm not that ambitious and probably would have been better off never coming to Uni. Practically all career sectors I'm interested in don't require a degree. Grad schemes don't interest me; I don't want another corporate job sitting in a cubicle all day (I have such work experience).

I'll likely get a high 2:2 if I graduate this year. However, Engineering degrees have an optional 4th year with a lot of optional modules and friends have said it was the best year of their degree. Something like 80% of people at my Uni who do it finished with a 2:1.

The idea of another year after this though makes me question living. I'm personally okay with a 2:2, I just know employers aren't.

Can anyone advise on what I should do?

ReputationRep:
    Do the optional 4th year. Surely choosing your modules will make the year a bit more interesting and therefore fleeting.

Leaving with a 2.2 is risky when you have the option to rectify it. In my view there is less risk with doing the optional year (if you drop out surely you receive the 2.2 you would have otherwise received), than trying to pursue whatever employment you're after and being rejected time and time again due to a mediocre degree classification.

ReputationRep:
    Take the 4th year.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by CCC75)
    Do the optional 4th year. Surely choosing your modules will make the year a bit more interesting and therefore fleeting.