My job are making me work illegal amounts of hours? Watch

Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Posted anon as people I work with go on this site and I can be identified.

On Friday, they have booked me in to work a 9 and a half hour shift, with at most a 30 minute break.

I am aged 16. I have looked and "the law says that you must not work more than eight hours a day" (quoted from link below:
https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/wo...nd-rest-breaks)

What do I do & is it illegal? Should I talk to my manager? Thanks!
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
PS I work in retail
crashingLife()
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
It is Illegal. Talk to your manager. Is he the kind of guy who is caring enough to consider this. How much do you need the job as you face the possibility of getting fired for complaining.
carajayne
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
When I was 16 and in retail I faced the same issue! Employers have ways of bending these laws as it's not as clean cut as it may look. I'm not sure about the length of your shift but I do know that if you are working over 4.5 hours, you need a minimum 30 minute break by law. Therefore it's against the law for them to make you work that long with such a short break. I'm pretty sure you cannot work more than 8 hours unless you agree to it or special circumstance
TurboCretin
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by ahsenrauf)
It is Illegal. Talk to your manager. Is he the kind of guy who is caring enough to consider this. How much do you need the job as you face the possibility of getting fired for complaining.
I think at that point I would have a conversation with my boss about the concept of unfair dismissal.
poohat
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by TurboCretin)
I think at that point I would have a conversation with my boss about the concept of unfair dismissal.