Turn on thread page Beta

Applying for MSc Biomedical Engineering from BSc Biomedical Science watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hey,

So atm I'm studying Biomedical Science at King's College and am predicted 2.i. I've been looking at Masters and really like the look of the Biomedical Engineering one at Imperial, however I am not from an engineering background. It states on the website under entry requirements:
    'The minimum requirement is a degree equivalent to a Upper Second Class Honours in engineering, physical science or mathematics.Although applicants will typically have a background in engineering or physical science, the programme is potentially open to those from life sciences or medicine, provided they also have proven mathematics ability. This means that applicants should have achieved at least a grade A in A level Mathematics (or equivalent) and the degree programme included some mathematics. If your first degree is not in an engineering subject, we require that you give details of any mathematical component of your degree study and/or project work in your application form.

Applicants for the Neurotechnology stream:
    Should have previous experience of programming in MatLab or an equivalent mathematical package, or have the ability to quickly become proficient in a new programming language.
    Should have knowledge and understanding of the following mathematical concepts at a level higher than a pre-university Mathematics qualification e.g. higher than A-level:Linear Algebra in 2+ dimensions (including eigenvalues, eigenvectors, normal vector to a plane, etc…)Function differentiation and the concept of a gradient (including polynomials, exponentials, the chain and product rules, gradients etc…)Basic probability theory (including mean, variance, correlation, Gaussian distribution, binomial distribution, Bayes theorem, etc…)'