Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I graduated in 2015 with 2.1 but failed land law (medical issues which weren't accepted, long story). I now need to resit in August 2016 to make my law degree a Qualifying Law Degree (QLD).

Can I still apply for training contracts in the mean time?

Thank you
    • Very Important Poster

You can but I think the fail is a problem. It depends where you are applying. If you are hoping to apply to one of the top firms, then dont be surprised if they weed you out. Unfortunately imo they are looking for excuses to filter down their applicants to the best candidates. The fail will stand out and they can be unforgiving. maybe you interview well, have done vacation schemes and have amazing extra curriculars plus good exam scores.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by newdehli)
    I graduated in 2015 with 2.1 but failed land law (medical issues which weren't accepted, long story). I now need to resit in August 2016 to make my law degree a Qualifying Law Degree (QLD).

Can I still apply for training contracts in the mean time?

Thank you
    You can apply - there's nothing stopping you.

You'd have to declare you haven't got a QLD yet and in a very concise way (a sentence or two) explain the long story behind failing land law. If your uni didn't accept the medical circumstances, do you have any medical professional documentation to show it happened?

Some firms won't just filter you out as suggested above, but only due to the mitigating circumstances. You must have had good grades elsewhere to get you a 2.1, although it's a little odd that you haven't already re-sat your land law. I would have expected most unis to have made you do that before you graduated.

In short, disclose the resit issue and mitigating circumstances and some firms will take both into consideration alongside the rest of the info on your application.

Posted from TSR Mobile