Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello! I'm a current Yr 12 student considering taking Dentistry at university. I currently take Biology, Chemistry, History, Maths, and Crit Think. If my grades at the end of Yr 12 were not satisfactory for the standard 5 year course, would it be acceptable for me to drop one science so that I was eligible for the foundation course?
    • Community Assistant
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    I very much doubt it. Foundation courses are for people who chose the wrong A level subjects from the outset, not people who just didn't do very well at AS level and want to play the system. Admissions tutors will see what subjects you studied in Year 12 and will ask themselves why you dropped the subject most relevant to the degree you want to do.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Rachanapun)
    Hello! I'm a current Yr 12 student considering taking Dentistry at university. I currently take Biology, Chemistry, History, Maths, and Crit Think. If my grades at the end of Yr 12 were not satisfactory for the standard 5 year course, would it be acceptable for me to drop one science so that I was eligible for the foundation course?
    Your best chance to study dentistry is to work as hard as you can to get the top grades, do relevant work experience and spend your summer doing preparation for any admissions test you need such as UKCAT. For foundation you still need excellent grades so work to get those.

ReputationRep:
    Thanks for the feedback! The clarification was very useful and now I'm going try my best! Just wondering, how much work experience did you guys do?

ReputationRep:
    Thanks for the feedback! The clarification was very useful and now I'm going try my best! Just wondering, how much work experience did you guys do?