Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi TSR,

So I am a level 3 student currently working on some Chemistry homework looking at separation techniques.

Can you help? Any input is welcomed! Please read on. Please note that my work is set out in Standard experimental report format e.g. Introduction, method, results, analysis, conclusion and evaluation. I am currently typing it up in MS word.

1. Plan an experiment to separate the components in the following mixture:

Potassium bromide and aluminium oxide.

Your plan should include:
    (i) Experimental details on how you will carry out the separation and the reasons why you have chosen the method described.

(ii) Details about how you could find the % of aluminium oxide in the original mixture.

(iii) How you could test the aluminium oxide to see if any potassium bromide was present after separation.

2. Briefly describe how you would carry out separations of the following mixtures. Give reasons why you have chosen the method described and include any tests you would carry out to demonstrate the efficiency of the separation (where appropriate)

(i) Two liquids X and Y. X boils at 70 degrees Celsius and Y boils at 110 degrees Celsius. X is flammable, Y is not.

(ii) Iodine and sodium nitrate

(iii) Pigments in plant leaves

Some useful information:
    Aluminium oxide - Insoluble in water
    Potassium bromide - Soluble in water
    Iodine - Insoluble in water - Soluble in non-polar solvents
    Sodium nitrate - Soluble in water - Insoluble in non-polar solvents

******************************** ******************************** ******************************** ***************

Standard Experimental report format:

WRITING A REPORT OF ANEXPERIMENT: