Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Advice for a miserable first-year - should I drop out and reapply? Watch

ReputationRep:
    EDIT 13/7/2017: Hi all, OP here - just wanted to update this post and say that I decided to stick with SOAS, I'm now in my second year and absolutely loving life. I know I had loads of teething problems last year when I came to London but honestly I'm so glad I stayed! By the end of first year I had cemented my friendships and learned to love London, and although the SOAS politics irritate me still, they do loads of people's heads in and I'm not the only one haha - I've learned to laugh at it and to make the most of what the rest of London offers.

The reason I've decided to edit is because I've had a few PMs from prospective SOAS students asking me about my decision as I didn't actually post anything else, and thought I'd just quickly write that I've stayed and, as I said, I now love it. If you want more detail and/or you're interested in studying Japanese please feel free to message me! Best of luck to all uni applicants who happen to read this!

Hi all,

I'm currently in my first year at SOAS studying Japanese and honestly am not enjoying myself at all. Whilst the academics are brilliant, the atmosphere is horrible and I feel so out of place. I feel I settled for SOAS after gaining an unconditional and being told by my teachers at school to accept it when I also had an offer from Durham which would have suited me far better. I honestly feel so isolated in London and although I'm doing well academically and getting firsts, I'm not enjoying myself socially and I don't think anyone at SOAS is taking their studies seriously. I have nothing in common with anyone and feel alone to the point that I'm considering dropping out and re-applying next year as now I've missed the UCAS deadline.