Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I originally posted this in the SAAS sub-forum, but I'm copy-pasting it here to hopefully give it a bit more visibility. My original post is below:

After over 6 months of waiting, I was unbelievably disappointed to receive a phone call last Friday telling me that my funding application has been declined. I am planning to lodge an appeal in the next couple of days, because I don't think I've been treated fairly, so I was wondering if anyone has any advice or experiences to share? I would really appreciate the help, because I wasn't expecting this, and if this appeal fails I have to come up with a significant sum of money by the end of March.

My situation is this: I am studying Medicine at Trinity College Dublin, but I am currently taking a year out to do a degree in Immunology. Intercalated degrees like this are commonly offered by medical schools in the UK and Ireland, and I was told over the phone back in June that the SAAS do cover students taking them. There is literature on the SAAS website confirming this. But I think they've taken issue with the fact that it's a Masters, and thus technically a postgraduate degree. This doesn't make sense to me, because if I was studying in England, I would be able to take a similar course, and I would be supported even though it would be more expensive. Also, I don't have a degree, so how can I be a postgraduate!

So has anyone encountered this situation before? Any general advice about appealing? Thanks!
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    You need to download or get a copy of their appeals procedure to see how it works and what you have to prove.

You need to look at their written decision to see why they made it.

You need to point out its common. You confirmed it with them and hopefully identify who gave you approval it was ok. the mre precise you cna be the better.