Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I decided to come to Scotland to study (I'm Italian) at uni and I was so excited about it. Everything was going to change dramatically but I was finally making my dream to live abroad come true. I studied hard (extremely hard, I was not even sleeping at night during my final exams at high school) to come here and made a lot of sacrifices, especially to convince my parents that I was mature and old enough (I'm nineteen now) to live alone in a foreign country. I've always been very determined and I was working hard to meet my goals. My parents were not really sure at the beginning, but when they saw my determination they said yes. In March 2015, I started struggling with a boy (it seems banal, but it was an extremely unhealthy relationship, he was mentally abusing me with lies and bad words) and that relationship was so awfully toxic I got depressed. I fell in a big black hole called anorexia. During last summer I starved myself and exercised compulsively to lose weight. When I moved to Scotland the eating disorder just got worse and turned into bulimia too. I lost 19 kilos, my period and my purpose in life. I decided to recover in November, seek help at the counselling service of my university and managed to gain weight and I'm now eating almost normally. During Christmas holiday, I went back to Italy for one month and it was not exactly how I imagined. I was worried about gaining too much weight because of all the Christmas food and lack of exercises, I was waking up at night crying because I was afraid of getting fat. Then my gynaecologist prescribed me the birth control pill to have my period back and the side effects were just awful. I had severe mood swings and even contemplated suicide, and when I came back in Scotland after Christmas the struggle even worsened so my doctor decided to suspend it.