The Student Room Group

I feel like I'm doing a wrong degree

there's no summary of this as it's a bit complicated, sorry for the long read.

I'm currently studying biomedical science at LJMU, I enjoyed it at the start of the year, i applied for it since i liked science in sixth form and because of the fact that having a science degree would quite possibly allow me to have a well paid career. however i'm losing interest in it, recently i've been thinking about what i want to do after uni and i can't really imagine myself working in a lab every single day. i feel like my course is extremely broad in terms of topics and i don't like that at all. i would prefer to focus on one topic, particularly in genetics as i do have a genuine interest in learning about genes and DNA (it's one of my modules and the one i enjoyed most so far). also, i feel like the student union at JMU isn't the best, there aren't that many societies, we don't even have a student bar.

i was thinking of applying to Uni of Liverpool instead to do genetics starting from Year 2 as first year modules are quite similar in both unis, but my problem is that my a-level grades aren't what is required to do the course. they require ABB and i have BCC, would that put me at a major disadvantage if i decided to apply there? i have emailed admissions and they provided entry criteria 'as a guide' which stated that in order to switch i need to be doing modules this year that are similar to the modules at UoL (which i am), also that i'll need to have achieved a 2:1 or above by the end of first year and that i'll have meet the a-level requirements. i'm not too sure what to do.