Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Will my employer know that I have failed ACA exams as an independent student? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I am an independent ACA student who had failed 2 professional level exams last December.

Usually after I submitted my application forms and CV, the HR would contact me regarding my progress with ACA exams, and I have already received rejection from KPMG, explicitly because I have failed exams before.

Should I choose not to disclose my status as ACA student? Will my employer find out my exam history once training agreement is signed?

I know I should not lie no matter what...But it is not fair to punish me because I made extra effort pursuing ACA qualification beside my degree, right? One thing is for sure though, I will take ACA exams very very seriously in the future, and so should you! Consider carefully before signing up as independent student!
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    KPMG rejected you because you told them you failed or they found out? You arent clear what was on your form, what they asked, what you told etc.

I dont know about accountants, but if the forms ask about failed exams and you fail to disclose then you are commiting a criminal offence by misleading them. The best people to check wuth are the ACA records people to see whether your fails are part of your record. It looks better if you pass the 2 exams you have failed before applying again.

Are those he only 2 aca exams you have tried and failed or have you passed others?

ReputationRep:
    Just be honest, I think firms will appreciate your honesty

Its better than starting your job and then them finding out

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SirAlexFerguson)
    Just be honest, I think firms will appreciate your honesty

Its better than starting your job and then them finding out